Board of Directors

Doug Emsley , , , Chairman of the Board of Directors, President and Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Emsley is the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company. Mr. Emsley has a wide array of business and professional experience. He was previously Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Assiniboia Farmland GP 3 Corp., which was the general partner of Assiniboia Farmland Limited Partnership, a partnership which completed a sale of 115,000 acres of Saskatchewan farmland to CPPIB Assiniboia Inc. and Assiniboia Farmland Holdings LP. He is the President of Emsley & Associates (2002) Inc. Mr. Emsley is a director of the Information Services Corporation (“ISC”) (ISV.TO), and also serves as Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of ISC and Chairman of the Compensation Committee. Mr. Emsley is also a director of Greenfield Carbon Offsetters Inc. and the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club. He is also the Chairman and CEO of Security Resource Group Inc. (an IT and physical security firm) and Sabre West Oil & Gas Ltd. (an oil and gas company). He was previously a trustee of Royal Utilities Income Fund (RU.UN-T), then a TSX-listed income trust involved in the mining of thermal coal in western Canada, where he also served as Chair of the Audit Committee and from June 2007 to September 2014 served on the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada. Mr. Emsley has an MBA from York, University in Toronto.

David A. Brown, Q.C. , , , Director and member of the Audit Committee

Mr. Brown is Counsel at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP. Mr. Brown served as chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Securities Commission (“OSC”) from April 1998 to June 2005. Prior to joining the OSC, he was a senior corporate law partner with a predecessor firm to Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg for 29 years, focusing on mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance and reorganization. He is a Director and Member of the Funds Advisory Board at Invesco Trimark Group of Mutual Funds. In addition, Mr. Brown is the founding chair of the Council of Governors for the Canadian Public Accountability Board. Mr. Brown is a past chair of the Technical Committee and a member of the Executive Committee of the International Organization of Securities Commissions. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1984, a member of the Order of Canada in 2009 and he received the Queen’s Jubilee Medal in 2012. Mr. Brown received an honorary doctorate of laws from McMaster University in 2005, his LL.B from the University of Toronto in 1966 and his Bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from Carleton University in 1963.

Brad Farquhar , , , Director, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Farquhar co-founded the Company with Mr. Emsley and serves as a Director, Executive Vice- President and Chief Financial Officer to the Company. He was previously Vice-President of Assiniboia Farmland GP3 Corp., Assiniboia Farmland Holdings LP, Assiniboia Farmland LP, and Palliser Farmland Management Corp. Mr. Farquhar is a trained financial planner and has completed the Canadian Securities Course of the Canadian Securities Institute. He received a Master of Public Administration degree in Electoral Governance from Griffith University in Australia, studied political science at Carleton University, and completed a Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Arts at Providence College. Mr. Farquhar is a Director of Greenfield Carbon Offsetters Inc., Legacy Group of Companies Ltd., Mongolia Growth Group Ltd., where he also serves on the Compensation Committee and Nominating Committee, Chair of the board of directors of SIM Canada and also on the advisory board of AgFunder, the world’s largest community of professional agriculture investors. He is a former director of the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development and the Regina & District Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Lorne Hepworth , , , Director and member of the Audit Committee

Mr. Hepworth retired in 2014 as President of CropLife Canada, the national trade association representing developers, manufacturers and distributors of plant science innovations for use in agriculture, urban and public health settings. Mr. Hepworth is currently the Chair of the Board of the Global Institute for Food Security, a member of the Board of CARE Canada, and of the Advisory Board for Assiniboia Farmland Holdings LP. He is a past Chair of Genome Canada; and, recently served on The Expert Panel on Sustainable Management of Water in the Agricultural Landscapes of Canada and on the Governance Committee of the Canadian International Food Security Research Fund. In 2014 he was named to the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame. He has served as a member of the Advisory Board of the National Research Council of Canada, Plant Biotechnology Institute, the Canadian Agri-Food Research Council, the federal Pest Management Advisory Committee and National Biotechnology Advisory Committee. A graduate of the Western College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan (1971), Mr. Hepworth was a veterinarian in Alberta and Saskatchewan until 1982, when he was elected to Saskatchewan’s Legislative Assembly. He subsequently served nine years in Cabinet, during which he was minister of Agriculture, Education, Finance, and Energy and Mines. From 1993 to 1997, he held several executive positions with the Canadian Agra group of companies specializing in agrifood/feed production, processing and marketing.

David H. Laidley, FCPA, FCA , , , Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee

Mr. Laidley is a former Chairman of Deloitte LLP (Canada), an audit and financial services firm, where he was a partner from 1975 until his retirement in 2007. Mr. Laidley served as Chairman of Deloitte LLP from 2000 to 2006 and during that time, he also served on the Global Board of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu as well as its Governance Committee and he chaired its Audit Committee. As a chartered professional accountant, he has enjoyed a distinguished career spanning 40 years with Canada’s largest professional services firm, with specialization in its tax and audit practices. Applying his background in tax, he has counseled many clients in the areas of corporate reorganizations, acquisitions and divestitures. Mr. Laidley serves on the boards of Aimia Inc., EMCOR Group Inc.(NYSE), Aviva Canada Inc. and CT Real Estate Investment Trust. He previously served on the boards of ProSep Inc., Nautilus Indemnity Holdings Limited (former Chairman), Biovail Corporation (now Valeant Pharmaceuticals International Inc.) and the Bank of Canada. Mr. Laidley is a Fellow of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec (FCPA) and holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from McGill University.

John P.A. Budreski , , , Director

Mr. Budreski has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of Morien Resources Corp. since November 2012 and Executive Chairman of EnWave Corporation since June 2014. He was a Managing Director and a Vice Chairman with Cormark Securities Inc. from 2009 to 2012. He was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Orion Securities Inc. from 2005 to 2007. During the periods from February 2012 to October 2012 and from December 2007 to February 2009, Mr. Budreski was an independent businessman. Prior to this, he filled the roles of a Managing Director of Equity Capital Markets and Head of Investment Banking for Scotia Capital Inc. from March 1998 to February 2005 after starting out as a Managing Director of US Institutional Equity Group for Scotia Capital. He also held senior roles in investment banking and equity sales and trading for RBC Dominion Securities and worked for Toronto Dominion Bank. He holds an MBA from the University of Calgary and a Bachelor of Engineering from TUNS/Dalhousie.



Mailing List

Join our mailing list
Email Address *

Enter the code shown above.